Promotion at last for Tarporley Badminton

There were big celebrations Tarporley Badminton Club after their promotion to Division Three of the Chester & District Badminton League. Having been resident in the bottom division for a number of years now it was very pleasing to get a runners-up spot and achieve promotion after steady improvement in recent seasons.

During last season we travelled far and wide, visiting the likes of Ellesmere Port and crossing over the Welsh border to play Hawarden, Buckley and Connahs Quay, plus shorter journeys to our near neighbours Delamere. I’d like to offer my thanks to all our league players for their efforts over the course of the season, when we return to league action in September our standard of play will need to match that of new Division 3 opponents such as Christleton, Chester’s County Officers and David Lloyd Leisure Club.

As a club we are always looking to attract new players, whether they be experienced or just keen to get some exercise through a racket sport. So if anyone reading this article is interested in playing please contact myself using the contact details below. Although we are primarily made up of adult players we also welcome teenagers who are keen to develop their skills and who might be interested in some junior coaching with a qualified Badminton England coach. We play our club nights, and home league matches, on Tuesdays between 7:30-9:30pm during school term time between September and the end of the following March. The venue is the Sports Hall at Tarporley High School and the first night for any new players is free of charge.

  • Some members of the Tarporley Badminton Club celebrated promotion to Division 3 of the Chester & District Badminton League at the Swan Pub recently. The Lady players are Jennifer Dorsett, Jackie Christopher (front), Catharine Line and Alison Prichard (second row). The male players are Richard Line, Drew Brady, Howard Malyon, John Atkinson (back row) with Jim Crosbie (front) who also picked up the Division 4 men’s player of the season award.