Tarvin Tennis Club awards

At their Annual General Meeting held at the Vicars Cross Golf Club, over 40 members and friends of Tarvin Tennis Club heard reports of an exceptional year.  Their new pavilion is in the final stages of completion, the court lights are up and running, and preparations to celebrate the Club’s 50 years of existence in 2017 are slowly being finalised.  There was even a trophy to hail as the Men’s B team won their division in the Chester and District 2016 Summer League!

Chairman Rob Millar, whose words were later endorsed by President Barry Cooper, paid tribute to all those members who had worked hard over the years to bring the improved facilities to fruition, from the initial bid for a grant from Sport England and obtaining the necessary planning permission to the organisation and overseeing of the work itself.

Of course, the main purpose of the club is to play tennis, and Captains Chris Edwards and Julia Burgess gave encouraging reports on the teams’ various successes (and failures!) during the previous year in both the Winter and Summer League campaigns.  American Tournaments were enjoyed and the Club Tournament itself, run over the summer months, was well supported and contested.  Trophies were formally presented at the meeting to all the winners.

In addition to the above mentioned individuals, Secretary Felicity Pochin and the other six members of the committee were unanimously re-elected to serve in 2017.  After 8 years as Treasurer, Allyson Clarkson stood down and the Club was pleased to elect Rowena Okell to take her place.  Tributes were paid to Allyson for her cheerful and quietly efficient devotion to her task and she was presented with a gift from the Club in appreciation.

The Club also expressed their appreciation to Jane Wilson, shortly to leave Cheshire as career opportunity beckons elsewhere, for her many years of contribution to the Club, both on committee and as a team captain and player.  Jane managed to finish as a Ladies Doubles champion for the fifth time and the Club wished her well in the future.


Tarvin Tennis 5

Tarvin Tennis 4

Tarvin Tennis 3Tarvin Tennis 1Tarvin Tennis 2From top:

Allyson receives her gift from President Barry Cooper.

Mixed Doubles winners, Sarah Mitchell and Graham Bunting.

Men’s Doubles winners, Rob Millar and Peter Nosworthy (who also won his 16th singles title).

Wendy Rae with her 8th Ladies Singles trophy.

Jane Wilson receives the Ladies’ Doubles trophy from trustees Margaret Dixon and Len Shipley.