Tarporley Karting Team take the honours

Following on from the snow and freezing conditions that affected the last Natska (National Schools Karting Association) meeting at the Hooton Park circuit on the Wirral in March, the series moved on to the Whilton Mill Circuit near Daventry.
As usual a large Tarporley Karting Team contingent of 32 entered most of the classes available, competing against drivers from at least another dozen schools from all over the UK. Once again TKT returned with a significant amount of silverware.
In Class 7 Junior TKM, where competitors compete in Karts with a 100cc engines TKT drivers didn’t fair quite as usual due to a combination of engine failures, accidents and some general bad luck. That said we still had 3 top ten finishes from an overall field of 32, with Reece Griffiths 5th, Lee Whittingham 8th and Steven Duke 9th.
Although the TKT drivers didn’t do as well in the lower powered Honda engined Class 11, they did take the top 5 places, from a grid of 12, in Class 14 which is for 85cc two stroke Raket engines. Congratulations to Theo Hesketh who finished 1st in that class with Lucy Roberts 2nd, Kurt Roberts 3rd and Amy Duke 4th.
There were two top 10 finishes for TKT in Class 15 Junior Rotax where drivers compete in Karts with FR125 engines, well done to David Thorne who was 2nd and Connor Bailey who finished 8th in a field of 21.
Although there was only a grid of 2 in Class 8, 100cc water cooled engines it was still a very close event and TKT got another 1st place when Nick Wray prevailed to take victory.
Well done to Joe Weaver who was awarded Novice of the day.
To find out more about TKT or Natska and schools karting in general please contact Howard Malyon on 07887 626320 or come along to a TKT club meeting at Tarporley High School on a Wednesday evening (meetings run from 7-9pm during School term time)